Castilla y León is the largest autonomous community in Spain. It is located in the northwest of the Iberian Peninsula and made up of nine provinces: Ávila, Burgos, León, Palencia, Salamanca, Segovia, Soria, Valladolid and Zamora.

León, Zamora and Salamanca formed the so-called Kingdom of León while the rest formed part of the so-called Old Castile, along with La Rioja and Cantabria. Interestingly, Castilla y León has not declared any capital in its statute of autonomy.

Castilla y León has lays claim to eleven differnt UNESCO World Heritage Sites: the medieval cities of Ávila, Salamanca and Segovia, the archaeological sites of Siega Verde (Salamanca) and the Sierra de Atapuerca (Burgos ), the Cuesta Fría and Canal de Asotín beech forests in León and the Riaza beech forest in Segovia, the natural monument of Las Médulas in León, the Camino Frances de Santiago and Burgos Cathedral.

In addition, this autonomous community has more than 300 castles, more than 400 museums and 23,000 archaeological sites. The traditional gastronomy of Castilla y León is another of its strong points, along with its wine, which has 17 separate designations of origin, including Ribera del Duero, Rueda and Toro, among others, and is also the Spanish region with the most certified wine routes where you can sample the Wines.

The best plans to discover Castile and Leon

What to see in Castile and Leon?

You may be interested in these destinations related to Castile and Leon

Start your journey today

If you are one of those travelers who like to get off the beaten track, if you want to try something different or if you want your experience to be unique and personal...

Don't hesitate to contact us, we will help you tailor your trip to suit your requirements, we are expert travelers and we have personal knowledge of all our recommended destinations.

Contact us if you need to add flights, rental cars, transfers or events to your trip. We will help resolve all your doubts and ensure you finalize your reservation to your utmost satisfaction.